2016 Voter's Guide



MICHIGAN HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

2016 is a big year for Associated Builders & Contractors of Michigan and its members. Voters statewide have the opportunity to ensure the House of Representatives remains Merit Shop friendly and the many strides we have made can continue in years to come. Currently, Republicans hold a majority with 63 of the 110 seats.

All 110 seats in the House are up for reelection. The ABC of Michigan Political Action Committee (ABC MI PAC) endorsed incumbents 35 of the 110 seats. Also, 32 others are hoping to be elected to their first term and have received an endorsement from the ABC MI PAC. (The ABC of MI questionnaire was sent to all candidates. Only those who returned the survey and committed to being a friend of the Merit Shop were endorsed.)

DIST.	PARTY	CANDIDATE	
1	R	William Broman	
14	R	Darrell Stasik	
15	R	Terrance Guido Gerin	
17	R	Joe Bellino	
19	R	Laura Cox (i)	
20	R	Jeff Noble	
23	R	Bob Howey	
24	R	Steve Marino	
25	R	Steve Naumovski	
26	R	Randy LaFasseur	
30	R	Diana Farrington	
32	R	Pamela Hornberger	
36	R	Peter Lucido (i)	
37	R	Mitch Swoboda	
38	R	Kathy Crawford (i)	
39	R	Klint Kesto (i)	
40	R	Michael McCready (i)	
41	R	Martin Howrylak (i)	
42	R	Lana Theis (i)	
43	R	Jim Tedder (i)	
44	R	Jim Runestad (i)	
45	R	Michael Webber (i)	
47	R	Henry Vaupel (i)	
51	R	Joseph Graves (i)	

52	R	Randy Clark
57	R	Bronna Kahle
58	R	Eric Leutheuser (i)
59	R	Aaron Miller (i)
61	R	Brandt Iden (i)
62	R	John Bizon (i)
63	R	David Maturen (i)
64	R	Julie Alexander
65	R	Brett Roberts (i)
66	R	Beth Griffin
67	R	Leon Clark
70	R	James Lower
71	R	Tom Barrett (i)
72	R	Steve Johnson
73	R	Chris Afendoulis (i)
74	R	Rob VerHeulen (i)
76	R	Casey O'Neill
77	R	Tommy Brann
78	R	Dave Pagel (i)
79	R	Kim LaSata
80	R	Mary Whiteford (i)
81	R	Dan Lauwers (i)
82	R	Gary Howell (i)

83	R	Shane Hernandez	
84	R	Edward Canfield (i)	
85	R	Ben Frederick	
86	R	Thomas Albert	
87	R	Julie Calley	
88	R	Roger Victory (i)	
89	R	Jim Lilly	
90	R	Daniela Garcia (i)	
91	R	Holly Hughes (i)	
93	R	Tom Leonard (i)	
94	R	Tim Kelly (i)	
97	R	Jason Wentworth	
98	R	Gary Glenn (i)	
99	R	Roger Hauck	
100	R	Scott VanSingel	
101	R	Curt VanderWall	
102	R	Michele Hoitenga	
103	R	Daire Rendon	
104	R	Larry Inman (i)	
105	R	Triston Cole (i)	
106	R	Sue Allor	
107	R	Lee Chatfield (i)	
108	R	Beau LaFave	



U.S. HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

The 115th Congress will take office in January 2017, and Michigan will see a couple of significant changes. Congressman Dan Benishek (R-MI-01) and Congresswoman Candice Miller (R-MI-10) have announced they will not be seeking reelection, so we will see two new candidates in those seats. Many incumbents will be seeking re-election, meaning ABC members need to come out and vote for candidates who will fight for ABC issues. The candidates endorsed by ABC of MI PAC are listed to the right.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

The Michigan State Board of Education provides critical policy guidance and direction for the state's educational system. ABC endorses the candidates below.

DIST.	PARTY	CANDIDATE
State Board of Education	R	Tom McMillin
State Board of Education	R	Nikki Snyder

DIST.	PARTY	CANDIDATE
1	R	Jack Bergman
2	R	Bill Huizenga (i)
3	R	Justin Amash (i)
4	R	John Moolenaar (i)
5	R	Al Hardwick
6	R	Fred Upton (i)
7	R	Tim Walberg (i)
8	R	Mike Bishop (i)
9	R	Christopher R. Morse
10	R	Paul Mitchell
11	R	David Trott (i)
12	R	Jeff Jones
13	R	Jeff Gorman
14	R	Howard Klausner

UNIVERSITY BOARDS

DIST.	PARTY	CANDIDATE
Michigan State University Trustee	R	William Deary
Michigan State University Trustee	R	Dan Kelly
University of Michigan Regent	R	Carl Meyers
University of Michigan Regent	R	Ron Weiser
Wayne State University Board	R	Michael J. Busuito
Wayne State University Board	R	Kimberly Shmina

The Michigan State Board of Education provides critical policy guidance and direction for the state's educational system. ABC endorses the candidates to the left.

MICHIGAN SUPREME COURT

The Michigan Supreme Court primarily reviews decisions by the Michigan Court of Appeals, granting review to cases with importance to the general public.

PARTY	CANDIDATE
R	David Viviano
R	Joan Larsen

Two of the seven seats are up for election this year. ABC has endorsed two rule of law judges (whose judicial philosophy is to interpret what the law is, not to decide what it should be); these individuals will protect the integrity of our political system within its mandated role.

ABC endorses Justice David Viviano for a full term and Justice Joan Larsen for a partial term. Justice Viviano was first appointed by Governor Rick Snyder in 2013 after Justice Diana Hathaway resigned. He is running for reelection now for his first full eight-year term.

Justice Larson was appointed by Gov. Snyder in September 2015 and must run for reelection to complete the unfinished term of her predecessor, retired Justice Mary Beth Kelly. If elected, she will serve the remainder of Kelly's term, which expires in 2019. She will then have the opportunity to run for reelection for a full eight-year term.